26September2018

about-us-Header
 

Where is the village Mushapo located actually? What is special in Mushapo? How do the people live there? Here is a little insight.

Mushapo - A Portrait of the Village

The village

Two villages- Muyeji and Shapongo who grew together in the process of time, together are called Mushapo. Mushapo lies50 km south of Tshikapa, in directionto Angola and about 1000 km southeast of Kinshasa in the Provinz West Kasai. The village is led by two different Chiefs, traditional heads of village - Chief Muyeji is responsable for a part of Muyeji, Chief Mbumba Thumba for the part Shapongo. When we came to Mushapo in 2011, there was no school in the village. The children had to go about 5 kilometers to one of the neighbour villages, that is if their parents were able to afford the tuition at all.

Livelihood of the Village People

The residents of Mushapo live in simple mud huts with wood structure and thatched roofs. On the side of the mud street, that leads through the village, there are sporadic booths which are selling dried fish and sometimes some vegetable and fruit. The commodities which are not planted or produced there come from the city Tshikapa, which is 55 km away. This distance is covered circa one time a week on foot. About half the families of Mushapo get their livelihood, digging for diamonds. The other half is doing agriculture for self-support to survive. Many people there do not have a solid regular job, to earn money on a permanent basis. There are not many big entrepreneurs in the region. However our project in Mushapo creates important jobs. Let alone there often have to be supported more than 10 family members.

Topography and Farming

With "outback or bush" not only the intermingled area is meant, characterized through wild shrubbery, dispersed trees and grass two or three meters high. "Outback" also depicts the underdeveloped rural interior, remote from the big cities. A lot of folk in Mushapo speaks only their local dialects, Tshiluba (in the Conga they have more than 450 languages and dialects), so that often translators, translating into French are needed. In the Kasai-Occidental region, many people only eat once a day - sometimes only every other day - and that is to say, mostly root tuber and leaves of the manioc-plant, which is the principal food in the Congo. Depending on the harvest, there may be peanuts, mais, soy, bananas, papaya, mangos, oranges and perhaps once a month a chicken or dried meat to eat.

Medical Supply

In Mushapo they don't have a water purification plant. For drink-water they only have one fountain, about 80 meters altitude difference below the village. Containers are used to transport the water to the village. The people wash themselves or their clothes in the river, which is in 2 kilometers distance. The sanitary condition is not good and clean toilets are lacking. These kind of sanitary conditions, mosquitos and other things are a health risk. For the approximately 1000 inhabitants of Mushapo - more than half of them are children- there is only one simple skilled doctor and not many can pay him. Many sicknesses, mostly malaria, are deadly and need immediate treatment. Therefore we supply medicine for people who cannot afford it for free, mostly to keep children from dying.

School project in Mushapo

The school is being build outside the village, place on a central positioned place, so that the children in the surrounding villages can profit from the school. For one thing, with or project, we want to establish a solid situation in Mushapo. Therefore we are using solid building material for the school building (corrugated sheet iron for the roof, burnt bricks for the walls, concrete and solid bricks for the foundation, etc.). This is a contrast to the mud huts with thatched roofs, which have to be renewed every other year. On the other hand, with our pilot scheme we desire to challenge other organizations and rich Congolese, to engage themselves in the rural areas. Because one thing is sure – everybody wants a school in Mushapo. Buildup and current enlargement are very urgently needed. We work together with the village people and are in charge together - for their school.

Recent Video to the school project

Image Gallery
Mushapo from air.Only existing map of MushapoKids in front of a typical houseBroken down houseLocal food selling storeJust a few sources in the near regionGras around is about 2 meters highConstruction of usual housesKids from Mushapo

 Fundamental values such as integrity, responsibility, honesty and a good work ethic are at the top of the list of conditions for all who want to work with us.

“Fantastic fundraising ideas” and “trustworthy coworkers”

Contact us

Do you have any questions or comments for us? Contact us directly! We appreciate your message and will try to answer you as soon as possible.

Contact us

I want to help

You want to know how you can help us to help in Congo? Get to know more about how you can support us.

Help ADH

Newsletter

You want to stay informed about the latest progress of our projects? Then sign up for our newsletter. Here you are also able to unsubscribe.

12November2018

about-us-Header
 
Wo liegt eigentlich das Dorf Mushapo? Was macht Mushapo aus? Und wie leben die Menschen dort? Hier ein kleiner Einblick.

Mushapo - Ein Dorf-Portrait

Das Dorf

Zwei im Laufe der Zeit zusammengewachsene Dörfer - Muyeji und Shapongo - heißen zusammen Mushapo. Mushapo liegt 50 km südlich von Tshikapa in Richtung Angola und rund 1000 km südöstlich von Kinshasa in der Provinz West Kasai. Das Dorf wird von zwei unterschiedlichen Chefs, traditionellen Ortsvorstehern geleitet – Chef Muyeji ist für den Teil Muyeji zuständig, Chef Mbumba Thumba für den Teil Shapongo. Als wir 2011 nach Mushapo kamen, gab es dort keine Schule im Dorf. Die Kinder mussten circa fünf Kilometer in eines der Nachbardörfer zur Schule laufen, wenn ihre Eltern überhaupt das Schulgeld dafür aufbringen konnten.

Lebensunterhalt der Dorfbewohner

Die Bewohner Mushapos leben in einfachen Lehmhütten mit Holzgerüsten und Strohdächern. Am Rande der Lehmstraße, die durch das Dorf führt, stehen vereinzelt kleine Stände, die getrockneten Fisch und manchmal etwas Gemüse und Obst verkaufen. Die Waren, die nicht selbst angepflanzt oder angefertigt werden, kommen aus der nächstgelegenen, 55 km entfernten Stadt Tshikapa. Diese Strecke wird ca. einmal pro Woche zu Fuß zurückgelegt. Den Lebensunterhalt bestreitet etwa die Hälfte der Familien in Mushapo mit dem Graben nach Diamanten. Die andere Hälfte betreibt Landwirtschaft für den Eigenbedarf, um zu überleben. Viele Menschen haben dort keine richtige geregelte Arbeit, womit sie dauerhaft Geld verdienen können. Denn es gibt nur sehr wenige große Arbeitgeber in der Region. Unser Projekt in Mushapo schafft jedoch wichtige Arbeitsplätze. Denn nicht selten müssen mehr als zehn Familienmitglieder versorgt werden.

Topografie und Anbau

Mit „Busch“ ist nicht nur die durchwachsene Gegend gemeint, gekennzeichnet durch wilde Sträucher, vereinzelt Bäume und zwei bis drei Meter hohem Gras. „Busch“ bezeichnet auch das unterentwickelte ländliche Landesinnere, abseits der großen Städte. Viele Leute in Mushapo sprechen nur ihre Lokalsprache Tshiluba (Im Kongo gibt es mehr als 450 verschiedene Sprachen und Dialekte.), sodass oft Übersetzer ins Französische notwendig sind. Viele Menschen essen In der Region Kasai-Occidental nur einmal täglich - manchmal auch nur jeden zweiten Tag - und zwar meistens Wurzelknollen und Blätter der Maniok-Pflanze, die Hauptnahrung Kongos. Je nach Ernte kann es auch mal Erdnüsse, Mais, Soja, Bananen, Papaya, Mangos, Orangen und vielleicht einmal im Monat ein Hühnchen oder Dörrfisch geben.

Medizinische Versorgung

In Mushapo gibt es keine Trinkwasseraufbereitungsanlage. Als Trinkwasser dient eine Quelle, etwa 80 Höhenmeter unterhalb des Dorfes. Das Wasser wird in Behältern ins Dorf gebracht. Die Menschen waschen sich oder ihre Kleider auch in dem zwei Kilometer entfernten Fluss. Es mangelt an Hygiene und sauberen Toiletten. Diese hygienischen Umstände, Moskitos und Anderes bergen Gefahren für Erkrankungen. Für die etwa 1000 Bewohner von Mushapo – über die Hälfte davon sind Kinder - gibt es nur einen einzigen einfach ausgebildeten Arzt, den viele Leute nicht bezahlen können. Viele Krankheiten, vor allem Malaria, sind tödlich und müssen schnellstens behandelt werden. Deshalb stellen wir für Menschen die sich keine Medikamente leisten können, diese bei Bedarf kostenlos, vor allem um weiteres Kindersterben zu verhindern.

Schulprojekt in Mushapo

Die Schule wird außerhalb des Dorfes gebaut, an einem zentral gelegenen Platz, damit die Kinder der umliegenden Dörfer auch von der Schule profitieren können. Zum einen wollen wir mit unserem Projekt Beständigkeit in Mushapo schaffen. Deshalb verwenden wir feste Baumaterialien für das Schulgebäude (Wellblech fürs Dach, gebrannte Ziegelsteine für die Mauern, Beton und feste Backsteine für das Fundament usw.). Dies steht im Gegensatz zu den alle zwei Jahre erneuerungsbedürftigen Lehmhäusern mit Strohdächern. Zum anderen wollen wir mit unserem Pilotprojekt ein Zeichen an andere Organisationen und reiche Kongolesen setzen, sich auch verstärkt in den ländlichen Gebieten einzusetzen. Denn eines ist sicher – alle wollen eine Schule in Mushapo. Der Aufbau und laufende Erweiterungen sind dringend nötig. Wir arbeiten gemeinsam mit der Dorfbevölkerung und tragen zusammen Verantwortung - für ihre Schule.

Aktuelles Video zum Schulprojekt

Fotogalerie
Mushapo aus der Luft.Der einzige existierende Stadtplan von MushapoKinder vor einem typischen HausZusammengefallenes HausLokaler EssensverkaufsstandEs gibt nur wenige Wasserquellen in der näheren Umgebung.Das umgliegende Elefantengras ist etwa 2 Meter hochKonstruktion typischer Gebäude Kinder von Mushapo

Ein Leben, ein Kind, ein Dorf nach dem anderen zu verändern macht einen Unterschied in dieser Welt.

Unsere Schule wächst – jetzt 150 Schüler

Rundbriefe

Sie möchten über die aktuellsten Fortschritte unserer Projekte informiert bleiben? Dann melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an. Hier können Sie sich auch wieder abmelden.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Haben Sie eine Frage oder ein anderes Anliegen an uns? Kontaktieren Sie uns einfach direkt! Wir freuen uns über Ihre Nachricht und bemühen uns, Ihnen schnellstmöglich zu antworten.

Kontakt aufnehmen

Ich möchte helfen

Sie möchten wissen, wie Sie uns dabei helfen können im Kongo zu helfen? Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie Sie uns unterstützen können.

ADH helfen